NaNoWriMo 2014!

National Novel Writing Month (mundanely known as November) is rapidly approaching, and today I “created” my NaNo novel for this year. Given that I just signed a publishing contract for last year’s project, I’m really stoked for this year. Something about seeing that little word count bar set to “0” makes me want to start typing. This year, though, I’m using NaNoWriMo to write the sequel to my Victorian folklore retelling. I want to wrap up those characters’ stories before I move on to another project, and this seems like the perfect motivation to get it finished. All those continuity issues make writing a sequel scary. But the nice thing about being forced to write the whole thing in a month is that it keeps it pretty fresh in your head–actively writing several hours a day and working through plot problems while washing dishes, making dinner, or walking the kids to school.

NaNoWriMo doesn’t work for everyone, but I find it kind of liberating. I start with a rough outline and a good feel for the characters and then just write and let the story and characters go where they want, not worrying yet if that sentence could be a little prettier or if that scene is a bit corny–that’s what the next eight months of editing are for.

If you’re doing NaNoWriMo too, add me as a writing buddy here!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Natasha Raulerson says:

    I added you. Sylentviolet!!

    Like

    1. eabwheeler says:

      Awesome! I’ll go add you back. 🙂

      Like

  2. Lauren says:

    Even if I’m only editing during November, I’m still looking forward to the thrill of NaNo! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eabwheeler says:

      Editing is important too. Get that book done!

      Like

Leave a Reply

