Time to switch brains

I’m moving now from polishing my Victorian ghost story, Within the Sickle’s Compass: or, The Haunting of Springett Hall to revising my still-unnamed Elizabethan novel. I feel like a need to whack my head a couple of times to clear out the Victorian stuff and make way for a totally different mindset. The Elizabethans were rougher around the edges, but I can’t help thinking they had a bit more fun. After all, kissing was totally verbotten with proper Victorians, but the Elizabethans kissed people hello and goodbye and for everything in-between. Of course, the Elizabethans also had to deal with the plague. And maybe there’s a connection there.

Leave a Reply

